Serena Necklace, Bracelet, and Bangle

While I did not mean for it to be a summer collection, it ended up being one.

At first, I wanted to create something similar to the Blooms necklaces I used to make, using mother-of-pearl and assorted stone chips which I still have a lot of.

blooms y necklace

An example of the Blooms necklace

There is something that draws me to these combinations of stone and pearl or stone and shell, of materials with different origins – one from the earth, the other from the sea.

Perhaps it is because of the summer heat  or because of my constant itch to be near the sea that my thoughts took me elsewhere – the beach, then to images of driftwood, rope, glistening waters, and beautiful sunsets.

April 2012, Ilocos Norte, Philippines

April 2012, Ilocos Norte, Philippines

This picture was taken  in the summer of 2012, one spent traveling, contemplating what I really want to do and what I want in life, and enjoying time with friends and family. I had just resigned, knew I didn’t want to go back to working in an office, but didn’t really know what to do next. Whatever it was, it had to be tied to what I love, to arts and crafts, to working with my hands. At this time, I  toyed with the idea of making jewelry, but it would be months later that I’d actually learn how. While Flow was really born out of the need to supplement my income as an artist, I would discover jewelry making as an activity I thoroughly enjoy, and as an art form in itself.

This picture is also one of the inspirations for the collection, which uses mother-of-pearl, bronze glass beads, and stone chips in colors of a tranquil summer sunset by the beach.

serena bracelet turquoiseserena necklace

serena bangleserena all

Black stone chips or black mother-of-pearl may also be used.

For inquiries, email flowjewelryandcrafts@gmail.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.